Working on a smart board is sort of like working on something from out of space. I had hoped that the setup for smart board learning would resemble a powerpoint or word presentation. It should have an easy layout that helps with learning. 


Instead, I found the smartboard set up confusing and difficult. I kept wishing that my presentation could have been completed on a paint, word or powerpoint document and they transpose it on the smart board program. 


That being said, I can recognize how a smart board can be conductive to classroom learning. The ability to have students interact in a fun and interesting way and help with gaining some knowledge. I think it's a great way of assessing student knowledge as well, and getting them involved in the lesson. 


I think the only thin that stops me from fully enjoying the smart board is the lack of a basic tutorial, and perhaps the chance to play around with the program and the actual board. Hopefully I can get the chance further into my educational career. 
10/4/2012 06:56:51 am

Jeff, I can agree with you that the Smart Notebook software being tricky to work with. I find that there are elements of the Paint, Power Point and Word programs hiding in the Notebook software, it will just take time to find it! I hope that you also can get experience using the program and who knows, you may have a skilled Teaching Associate who can show you how it work. Much like you, I have had challenges with Notebook but I had a teaching associate who taught the math classes in my Education 2500 experience and she did show me many fun options that you can use. Have you looked at all the templates available? They have set up instructions that you can use, which makes it a lot easier to work with!

Reply
Dan Braico
10/6/2012 03:22:12 am

"How do you get to Carnegie Hall? Practice, practice, practice." That answer also applies to skills with interactive boards in my experience. Before my EDUC 2500, I had no idea of how to use them. In Ontario, the Smartboards were like the "nice" room in some peoples homes that you never go in unless it's a special occasion. I always wondered why we had them if we were not going to use them. I was glad to be able to get my first crack at it last year. I found that it takes time to work with but as soon as you get it, you got it.

I agree with the comments about how complicated they can get and how uncomplicated paint, Word, and Powerpoint are. All Smart Technology needs is to be taken over by Microsoft and the ease of creating should come through.

I was wondering how far in assessment would you take an interactive board? Would it just be for teacher assessment, to see if the students understood a topic you just taught or would you actually summatively grade a student on their knowledge using one?

Also, as I asked Deanne, how would you get interactivity from a Smartboard so that all students can be involved? Is it possible? Are there better ways than using a Smartboard? I hope these questions don't haunt you too much.

Reply



Leave a Reply.